My Rabbit friend

When I was 14 I made a new friend -I bought a pet Rabbit. 

When I went into the pet shop I seen a hutch containing all rabbits in the middle of all the rabbits all snug and warm was the little one. He was all black and lovely. I decided I wanted him straight away. He was the one I chose. 

He was six weeks old when I got him and had just left his mother and brought to the store where I found him. I took him home in a box gently. 

I put him in his hutch in the garden and let him settle there alone for a while. It was filled with hay and a drink and food for him. I made sure his bedroom section was full of hay for comfort. 

A while later I went to pick him up out the hutch. He was wary of me and didn’t want me to pick him up. He went back and two trying to escape my hands a little frightened. But I eventually got hold of him and I held him to my chest. He instantly relaxed and I sat down holding him and a friendship began. I stroked him and he began to trust me. He began to believe in my care of him. He had beautiful shiny black hair and sticky up black ears. He was a beautiful animal to look at. 

As days went by we played alot. I would lie on the floor and he would run round my head standing on his back legs and making a funny little noise. He would sniff my head and lick my nose. He had a lovely pink round tongue. He was great and I loved him lots. I used to like looking into his eyes. I wondered what he made of the world. All beings which exist are fantastic beautiful beings either animal or human. So well designed and great and for purpose. 

I think people give rabbits negative opinions and views saying they are basic creatures,  stupid animals and vermin etc but trust me they are not in fact they are very clever smart creatures with a life and soul. Once I had to block him off from going behind the sofa as there was wires which would be dangerous if he bit them so he looked at the blocked path he once took and was working it out and decided to go under the cupboards and round. I was amazed he thought of that and crawled low under cupboards. 

When he used to run full speed from one end of the room to another he was basically just a blur it was impressive. He used to combine it with a sideways hop. He was amazing and I adored having him as my friend. People may think I sound silly or pathetic saying so but thats how it was. I think you can have spiritual friends in any forms. He was a source of comfort and could make you feel better when hes rubbing his face on you or licking your nose and fingers. Once I lay on the couch when he was little. He couldn’t get up the couch. He tried and tried. He went off in an all round circle and ran full speed and jumped onto the sofa and lay next to me with his feeting sticking out sidewards. I was amazed he did this and he had my respect. 

Watching him clean his nose and ears was a great viewing. He looked after himself well sitting up on his back legs and folding his ears round with his paws and clean them with his mouth. 

I used to put carrot sticks on his hutch door for him and he ripped them to pieces within half an hour. I remember thinking that he must be some kind of ‘lion rabbit’ as he tore it to shreads in such a quick time. He was great and lovely. His little nose sniffing away for more. 

I used to buy him a box of rabbit treats which were like chocolate drops the size of buttons. He loved them so much he used to stick his head in the box dropping all his sense of surrounding danger. He was safe with me anyway. 

If you have ever owned a pet or a rabbit there is a deep beautiful connection. There world is of innocence and they dont really possess any malice towards you. They love you truly in return and its a great emotional connection. There is no words said just a connection and mutual love of closeness. 

As time went on and me and him grew older I sadly didn’t have time to get him out as I was working and time became restricted. I remember once he made this frustrated sad grunt when I didn’t get him out and that will haunt me forever. He must of become fed up being in there. 

Sadly I think towards the end maybe I unintentionally disrespected his life by not getting him out as much as he must of felt sad and alone and trapped like a prisoner. That was his life and it deserved to be free. I loved him lots though and he was great. 

The day I found him dead was the saddest day of my life. I was 21 years old by then. He lay in his bed in a ball still and silent. He had gone forever. I held his cold lifeless body in my hands and cried my eyes out. I was so upset like I have never known. I loved him so much. He had lived for 7 years and had a long good life for a rabbit. I will always miss him. I have never truly got over that sadness. I have never returned to his grave in the garden as it upsets me. On his grave is a stone rabbit. He was buried in a shoebox with hay and carrots. I hope he forever rests there safe. Not only did he die and spell the end to his seven years of life but with it was the end of my childhood. He came into my life when I was a child and left me as a man. It was the end of two eras. I used to hope and listen to the sounds of him moving in his hutch after he died for a day or two. The sounds of him running and kicking about. The sound of him accidentally kicking his food bowl or drinking from his water bottle. The sound never came. 

I dreamt about him a day or two after he died. I dreamt he returned for one last play with me. He ran around and I held him and he licked my nose just like he used to do. Never once did he bite me. I felt this dream was a source of comfort as if he had come to say one last goodbye to me. We was in the garden and it was a nice sunny day. It was a beautiful day in the dream and it made me feel better. I hope it was him coming to say goodbye. 

The deep loving bond a human shares with animals can be almost unrivalled. There is a connection between the two species like no other connection. Whether you own a dog or a cat, horse or rabbit. The love is there of a little soul trusted to you who loves you in return. This is a solid unbreakable friendship and a loyal friendship. Animals possess many amazing qualities hard to find at times in humans which makes it all the more amazing. 

I hope wherever he is now I hope hes safe and I hope hes free and can wander many fields free of danger and have lots of grass and carrots to eat at his leisure. I hope hes happy and with other rabbits living a life of peace and happiness. 

I shall miss you forever my little rabbit friend and may you rest in peace for all eternity. 

Leave a Reply

