Haunted locations – Croxteth Hall, Liverpool

I went to visit Croxteth hall five years ago the day after Halloween.  It was a rainy day and all around Croxteth hall there was no one to be seen. The hall had stood there for around 600 years or so.  I entered the gift shop to buy my tickets to enter the hall.  You have to buy the entry tickets in the gift shop and go through a door into the gift shop into the hall. 

http://liverpoolcityhalls.co.uk/croxteth-hall

I entered the hall and was at the bottom of the grand old main staircase.  To the left of me was the original entrance and to the right the stairs and a passageway along the staircase to the downstairs rooms.  It was periodically created such as styled to suit Victorian times.  Fake paraffin lamps flickered at top of the stairs.  Old music played quietly.  

My first impression of the place was a strange and unique location.  It was a tourist attraction and each room had motion sensors so when you enter a room voices and sounds play as if it was the people who used to live there living their lives.  

As I stood at the bottom of the staircase I heard one of the audio themes begin to play in one of the rooms upstairs which I thought was strange as I was the only one in the hall.  I ignored it and continued my journey down a passage to lower floor rooms along side the stairs.  I could hear the heavy rain hitting the windows.  It was quiet and the atmosphere was silent and close. The cold air circulated gently around the passageway.  

I arrived at the old wine cellar and it was a little darker here as not much natural light. I looked into the cellar and jumped a little.  Stood in the cellar facing the beer barrels with his back to me was a man in an old fashioned tuxedo.  He was motionless. My heart raced a little then I realized it was a waxwork model!  The hall had various models scattered about the place such as maids and workers.  

I continued and walked down the coridoor into the kitchen area.  The main door into the courtyard was open and the rain was heavy and the only sound I could hear. In the coridoor was a pigeon. I walked close to the Pigeon but he didn’t move at all which I thought was unusual… 

I entered a door into the kitchen.  Either side of the door was windows looking into the coridoor all the way along to the walls.  The audio music played and I took photos.  I stood still looking at my camera pictures for a minute and the audio music had gone off and as I hadn’t moved it didn’t come back on.  

Then from another room I heard a door open.  I turned and looked surprised as I was the only one in and this door was from ahead of me.  I looked through the window which shown the hall coridoor. 

Coming along the coridoor I could see a dark Hood making its way along.  The feet sounded heavy. I seen him stop roughly around where the Pigeon had been.  He reached the door to the kitchen and I seen a hooded figure about 170cm tall and a grotesque face. He wore old fashioned heavy sandals and a long dark cloak and had bare legs.  He jumped when he saw me as if he didn’t expect me to be there… 

He stood and stared at me for about twenty seconds. His face was like ‘rotting’ and his hair had a grey strip going under his Hood. Then he continued walking and slammed another door further up… Then he returned with his heavy footsteps… Stared again for what seemed forever but really was about ten seconds.. I seen the pigeon under his arm.  He then dissapeared into a locked room not for the public and never came back… 

The sad thing about it was the whole time I had a camera in my hand the whole time but failed to take a photograph… At the time I didn’t think of it as I was too much in the grip of the situation.  

I attempted to continue to wander the tour of the hall but couldn’t as my imagination kicked in and I had visions of him everywhere bumping into him round corners or on staircases etc or him being hidden amongst the models sat at a table.. It was scary thoughts.  

I went back to the gift shop and reported it and they confirmed no one else had been in before or after me.  The security showed me on cctv but nothing else… 

Now I know people will believe I made this up but this genuinely happened to me…

Leave a Reply

